Skip to main content

Testimonials

“There are no words that are adequate to describe Dolores Boylan. Part savvy advisor, part tough negotiator, part savant, part friend – and 100% prodigiously talented real estate professional. We first met Dolores when we embarked on a nearly two-year search for our next, perfect home. She endured the ups and downs of many open houses, countless showings, one heartbreaking bidding war loss, all culminating in a successful offer, masterfully negotiated by Dolores and accepted by the seller. Then the rush was on to get our house on the market, and to sell it quickly. 

“Dolores provided invaluable advice on how to stage our house to highlight its best features, and she extensively researched other properties available at the time to arrive at the right price. We received an offer well above asking at the broker’s open house.  Naturally, when we were ready to put our current home on the market, we turned to Dolores. She advised on the improvements we should make to make our unique, quirky house more marketable, and she expertly navigated a stressful negotiation of an unusual offer. 

“And she is currently developing a strategy for finding our next perfect home. Dolores is simply the best.”

-- Stella P., February 2021

“I was a first-time home buyer and Dolores was the perfect broker. She explained the whole process and handled everything from start to finish. She took the time to understand all of my extraordinarily picky desires and stuck with it until we found the right place. She is extremely knowledgeable about the real estate market in Jamaica Plain, has her ear to the ground, and seems to know just about everyone! Once I decided to put in an offer, she was able to negotiate a deal under asking and coordinate everything while I was out of town. Even after closing, she has continued to go above and beyond to help make the transition into my new home as smooth as possible. I highly recommend working with Dolores.”

-- Will M., June 2020

“High on my list of life’s most stressful events is selling a home.  A close second is preparing a house for the market.  But not with Dolores Boylan as your Realtor!  Having worked with Dolores on a home sale and purchase 28 years ago, we knew who to call when we decided to sell our Waban home. She guided us every step along the way—from when to go to market, to what improvements to make (and which NOT to bother with), which contractors were affordable and reliable, and at what price to list the house.  After 2 days on the market, we had 6 attractive offers, all well above the asking price.  

“You choose a Realtor to help get the best offer for your house, to offer guidance and expertise, to help you navigate the negotiations and close the deal, to provide peace of mind (and occasional hand-holding).  And someone with integrity.  Dolores checked ALL the boxes.  We were delighted to work with her, and we are delighted to recommend her.”

-- Peggy S. and Mike S., May 2019 

“We are delighted to recommend Dolores Boylan -- real estate agent extraordinaire who has helped us buy and sell two houses and we will undoubtedly be using her services again in the future. Dolores has a wise and perceptive approach to understanding both the real estate market as well as the needs of her clients. Her opinion and advice yield maximum benefit for buyers and sellers alike and there is no-one quite like her. Rest assuredly in her safe and steady hands and you will find exactly the home (or the sale) you are looking for. We recommend her without reservation whatsoever.”

-- Vivien and Phillip S., May 2019

“Dolores worked with us on a complex sale -- buying and selling with challenges on both ends. I’ve gone through this process many times before with other Realtors, but Dolores is in a class all by herself. She’s incredibly knowledgeable, yet also unafraid to explore new horizons. She’s professional to the point of being available 24x7 while working on a deal. And she’s calm, weathering every little issue with a smile on her face and the answers in her back pocket. She was able to get us way above asking price on our old home and helped us score a new home at a terrific price -- I don’t think it’s an exaggeration to say that without Dolores, we wouldn’t be in our dream home now. If you’re lucky enough to be able to work with Dolores, you’re guaranteed a great ride with a superb deal in the end. I simply cannot recommend her enough.”

-- David F., April 2019

“Many, many thanks for guiding and assisting us through the many-faceted process of selling our home. We relied on your advice at every step of the way: preparing the house and yard, hiring painters and handy people, deciding when to sell and how to best show the house. Your creativity was invaluable –– the house looked fantastic. You answered all our calls and were available at all times – running the open house, assisting at the closing and helping with the last inspections and fire department. We felt you always had our best interests in mind. Lastly, we most appreciated how your energy and humor made all the tasks easier.”

-- Marilyn M., June 2018

“Dolores was incredible from start to finish in both buying our current home and selling our prior home. She was referred to us by a friend who recommended her highly, and she exceeded those high expectations. She guided us through purchasing and selling in a competitive market. She was supportive, available, clearly very knowledgeable, and helped us make great decisions. She is also just a delightful person. We have recommended her to several friends who have had similarly phenomenal experiences. We’d recommend her again, and work with her again, in a heartbeat.”

-- Katie G. and Sam A., April 2018 

"Dolores Boylan represented us during the recent sale of our condominium in Brookline.  We came to work with Dolores by way of referral from a friend who praised their experience with her.  We worked with other agents in past transactions, but we were particularly impressed with Dolores’ portfolio and exceptional market knowledge.  She had a very relaxed yet professional attitude about her, which put us at ease and gave us the confidence we had exceptional representation.

“Our sale was particularly complex given the fact we were building a new home at the same time as trying to sell our existing condo.  She worked with us to strategize ways to market our property to optimize the resale value.  In doing so we were able to market the property during a busy time in the marketplace and still accommodate a delayed close.  In the end we received multiple offers all well over asking price with the flexibility we needed.

“Dolores also went beyond just helping us with the sale of our existing home.  She provided us insight into building our new home as she had built a home of her own.

“We highly recommend Dolores to any buyers or sellers in the Brookline market.”

-- P. Haughton and Family, April 2018

“Dolores - Thank you for all that you did to help my wife and I find and buy a home that is perfect for us! We know that your help was instrumental to us being able to buy a home that will make us happy now and for years to come. 

“From the start, you had the hard job of teaching my wife and me about the rigors that we would face as buyers in a fierce seller's market. Because we were first-time home buyers, we appreciated that you were patient with us, while we learned just how challenging this market would be. Then, when it came time to make offers, you were ready to pull out all the stops to make our offers as competitive as possible. You were creative and flexible, bringing a contractor to one open house to estimate the cost of damage to a retaining wall and arranging a last-minute pre-inspection so we could put in a clean offer on another home. With short timelines for all homes, you helped us navigate the fast-paced process of preparing and submitting offers that were competitive and differentiated. We know that your knowledge of the homes and people in the Boston/Brookline/Newton market helped us win a bid on the home we plan to live in for years and decades to come. Moreover, after our offer was accepted, you helped navigate the challenging and stressful process of the purchase and sale, and you helped us work through the key issues prior to, and even after, the closing. We knew you would be an advocate for us at each step in the process. 

“As we've watched home values continue to rise in our area, we are increasingly grateful that you enabled us to get into a wonderful neighborhood and a beautiful home at the right time. I am sure that working with first-time home buyers brings a unique set of challenges, but you were always enthusiastic and positive in showing us the ropes of home buying. Always, you were always kind and respectful, while also making your advice clear. You were quick to get back to us on any issue we were facing - an especially valuable attribute in such a fast-moving market.

“You have been a trusted advisor to us in one of the biggest decisions we've had to make in our lives. While we do not plan to move any time soon, if we do have to do, we certainly hope that you'll be there to help us through that process.”

-- Chris D., March 2018

"Dolores – thank you for all of your help, all the preparation and thought you put into this sale! We were very lucky to be able to rely on so much guidance from you, from when to put the house on the market to figuring out all the steps that need to come before that moment. When and how to get it emptied were big obstacles for me, and your help was invaluable in finding the lovely ladies of Trilogy to completely manage the estate sales side of things and the disposal afterwards. 

“You were in constant communication, incredibly available, and very supportive of what it felt like to part with the house and the memories. Your positive energy and creativity were essential to this project! You looked out for our interests as sellers in dealing with the buyers, the inspectors and lots of minutiae. I do hope we'll stay in touch – and remember, I do have a spare bedroom here at the Vineyard!”

-- Jan C., April 2017